career advice?

jballs

Feb 23, 2017
Hi all, I am brand new to the forum and searched it out to ask if you have any advice to offer. Apologies if it's a common question, I looked around for similar threads but found none. I had a FA girlfriend for the last two years and was on her flight pass. We didn't last, after several months with no pass privileges I am seriously considering going to work for a major carrier and just getting my own.

With that in mind as my main objective, what carrier should I choose and what line of work is the best option? I am 41, US citizen, single and no kids and don't much care where I live. Strong background in finance but no schooling for it (I have been a futures broker & hedging consultant for >20 years). Any thoughts on where to look or who to talk to would be most appreciated, thanks!

Since you are asking what line of work........

I think TULE at American Airlines has a lot to offer. Both white and blue collar.

TULE is American Airlines maintenance base located in Tulsa Oklahoma.

I would not recommend taking a ramp job (Fleet Service Clerk) at 41 years old unless you are very fit. Being low seniority you will have a very heavy workload. I can tell you I have met few career ramp employees that have not had shoulder, knee, hip, and back surgeries.

Another thing to consider is UNIONized part time employees get benefits. If your only interested in flight benefits you could try part time just to take the company for a "test drive".

I can tell you I did not like working for American Airlines and left after 12 years to start a new career. I have been out of the industry for 4 years now. Airlines have their own unique culture. You better be prepared for that.

From Glassdoor.

https://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/American-Airlines-Reviews-E8.htm

"Fleet Service Clerck- CLT"
StarStarStarStarStar
Current Employee - Fleet Service Clerk in Charlotte, NC

I have been working at American Airlines part-time (More than a year)

Pros