Delta Free Upgrades Killing the Premium Class

Nov 8, 2015
As a Platinum Medallion on Delta, I have watched the service go down ever since they started allowing any passenger to be added to the upgrade list with no additional charge. Premium or First Class should be a higher price. The boarding process has slowed.  Upgrades are not as special.  I have been paying for First Class for many years. My business partners and I have decided to fly on other carriers when possible.  

Reactions: 3 people
Don't know about UA, but at AA there is a charge to upgrade except for Executive Platinums  (our top tier AAdvantage members who fly 100,000 or more miles a year on AA)--assuming you are flying on a ticket that allows for upgrades.  I overheard one guy demanding that the gate agent upgrade him for free.  "I have NEVER been charged for upgrades."  (He wasn't even an AAdvantage member.)  Agent tried her best to explain to him that should a seat become available (highly unlikely since F/C had already checked in Full.  There would be a charge for the difference in the ticket prices as well as a change fee--$75 if I remember correctly.  Man was incensed.  Said he would never fly AA again.  Oh well.

To clarify, there isn't a "charge" for Gold and Platinum members on AA.  They just need to use 500-mile upgrade e-certs, which they earn for every 10,000 mi. flown.  And, if the segment is <= 500 mi, you don't need to use e-certs at all.  If you fly often, one almost never needs to buy extra e-certs.

That being said, I've also been a DL Medallion member over the years.  I'm not sure what the poster is referring to.  He seems to imply "since they started", but all Medallion members have always been upgraded if there's a seat available (at least for the last 15+ years).  He might be referring to an average coach passenger being offered the chance to buy an upgrade at the gate.  This happens so rarely though I hardly see how it's ruining domestic First class.

John the Attorney said: