What would you do – return as a pilot?

dogpile

Jun 14, 2005
A question to all of you out there. I was hired as a pilot in 1987 and took a leave of absence in 2001. I have been a mortgage broker and despite the economy am doing OK. However, tomorrow is my 50th birthday and I am beginning to really miss the flying, the life style, and wonder if I am not making a mistake doing what it is I really love to do. So I pose this questions – is the job worth returning to?

Consider that I would be taking a 50K per year pay cut but in return I wouldn’t be going to an office every day. I also would get a decent schedule when compared to the 5 on 2 off work week and 10 hour days. Also, once I come back – the leave is cancelled.

Your honest opinion is appreciated. I don’t have an axe to grind on the seniority – so please when you respond don’t let that be the “thingâ€.

Thanks for taking the time to add your advice.

Your honest opinion is appreciated. I don’t have an axe to grind on the seniority – so please when you respond don’t let that be the “thingâ€￾.

Thanks for taking the time to add your advice.

Your screen name is well fitted for the mess here at the new Amer.. I mean US Airways. Are you single? Kids gone? Apply with an Asian or Middle East carrier. You will fly huge planes and be treated like royalty. Here, our pilots have been reduced to bunch of pus**** with no balls to do anything! Even the f/a's have bigger balls. Don't do it!!!

This is not the same airline that cut you loose in 2001. Although hard to imagine, we have acquired a management team that makes Wolf and Gangwal look like a bunch of pro-employee tree-huggers.