What's Piedmont Up To?

matika

Feb 3, 2004
Pittsburgh
Visit site
Went to a group interview last week for Piedmont Airlines in PHL for the position of flight attendant.

We were a little surprised at how things went down. For one thing, there were only 12 of us (okay so the pay isn't great...). We had to go through introductions, why we wanted to fly for Piedmont, etc.

There is a "cut list" about midway through the group interview. After all the introductions were made and we completed two essay questions, we were sent out to the lobby.

Only six of us made it. The rest were sent packing, including me. I was a bit puzzled as to their criteria, and so was another woman who was cut. I am a former PSA gate agent (as many of you may already know, PSA ceased ground operations in PIT, where I worked, at the end of last year) and am pretty familliar with a lot of aspects of the airline industry; the other woman was a former express flight attendant.

Even more puzzling to us was that one applicant in particular had been kept over us. She was a bartender, had horrible presentation and stumbled over her mock announcement.

As we waited for the shuttle to the airport, one of the "rejectees" had a valid, and interesting, point: Every single person who had been sent away was from the North. Most if not all of the ones the interviewers retained were from the South. (We knew where most everybody was from because they mentioned it in their introductions.)

Is this a coincidence? Did we make too much out of nothing? Or are they only looking for flight attendants for the bases in the South?

I really don't know what to think. But it certainly seemed skewed to us.