Woman Denied Boarding as Violin Too Big for Carry On

Jester

Veteran
Sep 12, 2007
Formerly PHry Town
Lots of musicians buy their instruments a seat. For a 20 million violin I am surprised she didn't do that and in first class.  I recall once when I was a gate agent a jeweler that couldn't get his bag in a bin and refused to valet it because he had 200k in diamonds in it.  

Reactions: 2 people
Whenever I see a post like this I imagine the following:

Woman has spat with supermarket checkout girl. 

AP, April 29, 2016

A manager was called in to assist in an altercation between a customer and a checkout employee in a King Kullen store on Long Island today.  More  information at 11.

Do you think you would ever see that in the paper?  But if it happens on an airplane...

MK

Reactions: 1 person
True dat.  For some reason or another, airline employees are almost always presented as the villain of the piece when oversized "carry-on" luggage is involved.  I agree with upnaway...if the fiddle is worth that much money, buy it a seat.  We do it all the time with larger string instruments, such as cellos and basses.  What I don't understand is why is the case too large for the overhead?  I had Itzakh Perlman as a passenger in F/C last year.  He had no problem with putting the case containing his Stradivarius violin in the overhead bin.  Lord only knows what that thing was worth.

Yo-Yo Ma buys a seat for his Montagnana cello built in 1733 valued at US$2.5 million. And he has professional assistance with him and the cello at all times saw him on a DH-8

nycbusdriver said:

Were you in an RJ like this flight?
No, but Ms. Pine has been fiddling and traveling for quite awhile now; so, I find it hard to believe that this was her first rj flight, or this was the first time she had encountered this problem.  Perhaps a connecting flight through DFW on S80s or 737s would have been the preferred booking.