Advise to a Ramp CSM

REPUS

Apr 27, 2006
It has been a long time since I posted anything in the forums. I have however come by from time to time and read some very interesting topics. This community is clearly manned by many many years of experiences. With that said, what advise would some of the Ramp have for a NEW RAMP CSM or any CSM for that matter.

Why this question? Well I'm glad you asked.

I have recently accepted an offer for a Ramp CSM with AA. I have been in aviation for 13 years and have spent 90% of that on the ramp. The last 3-4 years have allowed me to move into the Management part of Ramp Operations but deep down, I'm all RAMP.

So what should I expect from AA RAMP FOLKS? I have no UNION experience and I have been warned (sounds harsh I know) that it can be a bit difficult to manage said group.

What do you expect from you Ramp CSM?

How can I show this group that my goal is to work together and put our politics aside?

I must say that I am very excited but I feel like the new KID at a new school?

JFK Fleet Service said:
Eyes and ears open, mouth shut.
Listen to your Crew Chiefs.
Don't be an ass.
What does that do for communication. I have always been BIG on Good communication and Feedback. Seems like an ideal CSM, for you. Is not a member of Leadeship?

REPUS said:
What does that do for communication. I have always been BIG on Good communication and Feedback. Seems like an ideal CSM, for you. Is not a member of Leadeship?

I've noticed that only management refers to management as "leadership"; to the rest of us management is just "management".

Reactions: 1 person
Welcome back, Repus.

Chock and JFK have both nailed it. Remember also that you are moving to a very different environment than the one you were in. "Pitching in to help" is a whole lot different with workers covered under a CBA. I know you know what you are doing, but respect those boundaries just the same.