ALPA Agreement Now Invalid?

OldpropGuy

Advanced
Aug 20, 2002
Is the ALPA agreement now invalid, as it was contingent on the other labor groups agreeing to meaningful participation in the Restructuring Program, now that the mechanics have voted NO?

I'm not a lawyer, but as a ten year shop steward I've been taught about contractial law.

The answer to your question is yes, and no. (See I told you I understand contractual law).

Yes, in that as long as the Mechanics and Related group doesn't "participate meaningfully", your contract allows your group to not participate also.

No, in that in bankruptcy, the judge has as much authority over your work rules as he does over the I.A.M.s. But because your group is "participating meaningfully", he is honoring the company's 1113 request to leave you alone.

So no, you don't have a contract by the legal definition. But yes, you still have to live by it.

Some things never change.

----------------
On 8/31/2002 3:18:52 PM

Is the ALPA agreement now invalid, as it was contingent on the other labor groups agreeing to meaningful participation in the Restructuring Program, now that the mechanics have voted NO?
----------------
They'll participate....Just wait and see...

The ALPA agreement states that all stakeholders must take "meaningful" concessions ro the MEC can take action. This is subjective language, but in my opinion the MEC won't take any action against the company during this difficult period.

The ALPA MEC and its Legal Advisors and attorney's strongly recommended the pilots accept/obtain the S.1113 language.

Oldiebutgoody, I agree with you. I believe both the IAM-M and the CWA will reach accords before September 1o. There is to much at risk for the employees and the company.