Veteran
May 18, 2003
www.usaviation.com
Sent: Thursday, December 30, 2004 2:55 AM
Subject: 29 December MEC Chairman Message

Bill Pollock

MEC Chairman’s message to the pilots

December 29, 2004

This is MEC Chairman Bill Pollock with a Chairman’s message to the pilots for Wednesday, December 29th.

I want to start out by thanking everyone for your hard work during this holiday period. I sincerely hope everyone has the opportunity to enjoy this holiday season and that during your busy schedule you are able to spend some time with your family and friends.

Unfortunately, as you know, US Airways’ operations over Christmas, especially in PHL, was nothing short of a fiasco. As an employee and as a pilot I am embarrassed by the actions that resulted in the disrespectful treatment of our customers. We did not make the tremendous sacrifices in LOA 93, which will provide for the successful transformation of this airline, to be squandered. I assure you that your union will demand that the atrocity that occurred in PHL will be fully investigated and those responsible for the damage to our airline will be held accountable for their actions.

But I also am extremely proud of how our pilots responded to the crisis. Many of you continue to volunteer to help restore confidence in our airline. US Airways pilots performed their jobs as they always do, providing safe, reliable and dependable transportation to our valued customers. Your consistent sense of responsibility to our passengers was the untold story during the Christmas holiday, and was unfortunately overshadowed by the problems experienced over the weekend. Pilots are flying extra sections to move stranded passengers and baggage, taking you away from your families, just to make sure that people traveling with bags and gifts could arrive at their destinations as soon as possible. Pilots are also volunteering their vehicles to deliver rerouted baggage to the homes of our anxious customers.