How about a Cohen for DFW Vice President...no so much

Swordfish

Jun 17, 2011
How about a Southwest Region VP… not so much -

Douglas Cohen’s Resume

I hired on with American Airlines in 1988, in Tulsa on the 727 heavy C line. I worked in Tulsa for 3 years and then transferred to DFW line in 1991. I have worked as a General Aircraft Mechanic ever sense here at DFW.

I became a shop steward in 1993 for Local 513. I ran for the Election committee twice and helped to conduct elections of officers and contract votes in while in Local 513, when maintenance and stores split, I ran for midnight section chairman for two terms and served the membership of Local 565. I have 6 years of experience handling the day to day work and keeping track of hundreds of grievances. I have been involved in arbitration and disciplinary proceedings. The entire time that I worked as a section chairman I was interested in the safety of our members and worked to find solutions for many safety issues. After being a section chairman I was asked to take on the safety chairman’s responsibilities. I have been the Local 565 Safety Chairman for the last six years. During my tenure as the safety chairman I was elected to be the chairman of the joint system safety group. We met each quarter year and shared safety issues and safety solutions. During my time as the safety chairman my team of safety stewards and I have started and maintained many safety related initiatives.

The following are just some to the initiatives that our team has been responsible for:
1. The hangar floor anti‐slip coatings.
2. The hangar and line lightning protection and alerting system.
3. The safety eye glass program both prescription and non‐prescription.
4. The ongoing inspection and subsequent resolution of hangar and line safety items.
5. Tooling and maintenance stand testing and development.
6. Fall protection equipment.
7. The First Responder Program ( 2 lives saved so far).
8. The bump cap purchasing and distribution.