Luv Pilot Progression

AMRCostUnit

Feb 28, 2004
I am an 11 year pilot (FO) for AA and have 20 years to go. AA has been described as "a submarine just above crush depth pump out water as fast as it is coming in. If any happens, down we go..." Lovely analogy huh?

I am seriously considing getting out of AA while the getting is good and coming over to SWA. I have applied thru the website and am aware of requriements like the type rating (I just finished IOE on AA's 737-800; how convienent?)

I am concerned about your FA contract as the things I am reading on other boards sound way too much like what I have heard here at AA over time. I don't want to give up 11 years of seniorty for the same set of problems! I can say here at AA management is more concerned about their bonus plans/company cars/country club membership/SERP's/guaranteed retirement in case of BK (and how to get the employees to pay for them. I have taken a $4000/month, yep $4000/month paycut) but I'm not sure that is what SWA's management is all about. I think they care about the company much more than they do over here. But I am an outsider....

From a pilot perspective, what are the progession prospects of a guy getting hired this year with 20 years to go in tems of retirements and growth?

What is the current status of SWA looking at the RJ?

Here is a tip: DON'T EVER GIVE UP ANY FLYING! Here at AA our commuter American Eagle is growing 35% this years hiring 60 pilots a month into the RJ FO seat for $21 an hour. They have taken over 6 more gates at ORD (H1-H6) and have the entire G concourse. Taking delivery of 4 RJ's per month (all backed by the cash generated by AA and my $4k/mo paycut) All the cities I flew to when I was on the Fokker 100 are now Eagle. 100 lines of flying gone forever.

Post any comments here or private email at [email protected].

Thanks!