Moral

Ken MacTiernan

Veteran
Aug 12, 2003
San Diego CA
www.amtausa.com
Mr. Arpey, my name is Ken MacTiernan and I am an Aircraft Maintenance Technician Crew Chief in SAN with 17 1/2 years. I previously contacted you via e-mail after your replacement of Mr. Carty. In that correspondence I said that since you were in the group of top executives that were to have their retirement taken care of in case AA filed for bankruptcy while the rank and file employee were to endure the "Shared Sacrifice" that you should resign. Since trust was no longer something that was to be assumed by the leadership of AA it is hard for me, and thousands of other AA employees, to see how greed could steer us through the previous blunders made by Mr. Carty and his inner circle.
I write to you today to save you some time and money. Recently AA has reported that they plan on inviting AA union leaders to ask what can be done to return the moral to the work force. The answer does not need to be asked to the union officials. The answer needs to come from the same rank and file employee that carry the scars of "Shared Sacrifice". And the answer is to return what was stolen from us and for the remaining executives that were to be taken care of to resign. I do not say this in a fit of emotional distress. Nor do I write this as a "loose cannon". I am writing to you as a skilled professional Aircraft Maintenance Technician. I am writing to you as an employee that is tired of lies, greed and ineptness. If executives in today's airlines do not know how to run an airline then these individuals need to step down and allow those who know how to do so. The overwhelming feeling amongst AMTs is that we are being taken advantage of through weak industrial unionism. We are penalized for providing a safe, airworthy aircraft just so AA can offer free tickets and to provide retention bonuses for executives that got us into this position to begin with.