Pre-funding explanation, please.

whoop whoop

Senior
May 18, 2010
Hi all from AA,

I am a UAL mechanic and would like to clear up what the pre-funding is? I read the TWU grievance and understand it is a VEBA plan.

What popped my curiosity was the teamsters are trying to put us in a VEBA account. They are telling us the monies being put in the account will be ours. The account will be in our individual names. That the company and teamsters would not be able to touch it.

Now, from what I understand by reading your grievance, the company is reneging on the company contribution and interest gained on it, And are saying that money is not yours?

Thanks for the help.

whoop whoop said:
Hi all from AA,

I am a UAL mechanic and would like to clear up what the pre-funding is? I read the TWU grievance and understand it is a VEBA plan.

What popped my curiosity was the teamsters are trying to put us in a VEBA account. They are telling us the monies being put in the account will be ours. The account will be in our individual names. That the company and teamsters would not be able to touch it.

Now, from what I understand by reading your grievance, the company is reneging on the company contribution and interest gained on it, And are saying that money is not yours?

Thanks for the help.
Yup, that's about the size of it.
We supposedly had iron clad language in the CBA protecting those monies as ours, but, everything I'm reading is , it now is a gray area, and, it would seem, it's going to be some time before we see any of that money, if at all.

Reactions: 1 person
If the company and the union is promising you anything other then a paycheck, I would be very skeptical. Neither party will ever fulfill any promise made, at least that's been my experience.

Reactions: 4 people
Thanks CMH_GSE and DallasConehead,