Read Between the Lines April 19th

410OhOne

Advanced
Dec 30, 2002
Case in point: Managers at AMR Corp.'s American are eligible to share what could be $80 million or more in cash this April because the company's stock outperformed five competitors last year, three of which were in bankruptcy court.

The payout, which will depend on AMR's stock price on April 19, has become a major test of collaborative labor relations at American, coming as executives were asking unions to agree to more cost-saving changes by boosting productivity. Those talks have slowed, and unions representing pilots, flight attendants and mechanics have jointly filed grievances, claiming the company agreed to align management compensation with workers when unions consented to $1.6 billion in annual pay cuts to avoid bankruptcy in 2003.

Now here this;

Now I am just a dumb mechanic, havent been to all those fancy business schools. I have a college education, though technical, but I still drive a pickup truck. Lets see now. We take massive cuts, suffer massive layoffs, listen to our company leaders cry poor mouth over gas prices, the war on terror (define terror please?), the reduction in traffic post 9/11. Hmmm numbers I have seen have stated otherwise on the traffic issue. Anyway.

I called the American Century folk over there in KC. See they are the ones managing the company issued stock options. Now lets look back over the past year or so at the performance of this stock. Miserable to outstanding in just a short amount of time. Hmmm What I asked the representative was this. I see I am vested on this many stock options. How long until I am fully vested on the rest? She said in April.........!!!!!

Now, again. I am sitting here in my Wranglers, actually have a dip of skoal in my mouth as we share this time together. BUT ISNT ABSOLUTELY AMAZING HOW ALL THESE BONUSES ON STOCK PERFORMANCE COME DUE ABOUT THE SAME TIME AS THE STOCK OPTION PROGRAM REACHING MATURITY??