Recurrent Training

Puddle Jumper

Advanced
Mar 23, 2003
Hi Guys

I am a low time pilot, and considering a recurrentl training program....I am current to date but am looking for a refresher course, something to get me back in the air and stay on top of things. However I was wondering if anyone else have did a recurrent training program? Having just finished paying off my loans its not like I have a lot of cash to spend at this. I was wondering if anyone had any tips or suggestions what I should do. Any assistance would be appreciated.

PJ, my first question would be, "how low time?" followed by, "On what?"

More generically, though, and in more direct response, I haven't heard of anyone offering a specific, 'syllabused' referesher course. However, if you came to me looking for work, having gotten your licence a year or so ago and put in another 50 hours or so immediately afterwards, I'd like to see you with an absolute minimum of two recent hours on the lesser type(s) we operate, of which at least half would be on emergency procedures. After 2 hrs., I'd like to see some focus on aerial work applicable to the type (e.g. slinging, perhaps even longlining). I'd almost certainly give you more of the same, but not want to have to start from 'square one' again.

There are probably lots of other, and better, answers out there, but that's my 'rough cut.' B)

Downwash's view seems fair and logical.

Another idea (I've read previously on the old site I believe):
Consider a new type rating or perhaps a night rating. These would meet your 24 month currency and look like something on your resume.