Up In The Air

featheroleather

Advanced
Aug 9, 2004
Up in the Air

By Art Buchwald

"This is your United Airlines pilot, Rick Wingstein. Please fasten your seat belts -- we're heading into rough weather. How rough? We're in bankruptcy and the bank could take this plane away from us at any moment. How rough? We are no longer serving peanuts or pretzels to our first-class passengers and we're eliminating all sick bags.

"I'm not complaining. I've been flying for 30 years without a blemish on my record. Actually, I hold United's Friendly Skies Distinguished Flying Cross, with three silver clusters.

"Since we have to sit on the runway for another hour, I'll tell you my story. Last week the vice president in charge of defaults called me into his office and said, 'Rick, I have to take your pension away from you.'

"I was a bit shaken and said, 'but I've been counting on that money to get me through my golden years.'

"The VP said, 'It's not our fault. We needed your retirement money for other things, like executive salaries and bonuses, and golden parachutes for the people who resigned because they didn't know how to run an airline.'

"I asked him, 'How come they were replaced by other executives who just made it worse? I've been flying all my life,' I said, 'first in the Air Force, then with the airline. What do I do now?'

"He told me I should go into a government retraining program and learn another profession.

"He said, 'Dunkin' Donuts is always looking for a few good men.'

"I said, 'I don't understand. President Bush is going around the country trying to sell his Social Security program, which he says could go broke in 40 years, but he doesn't say anything about people losing their pensions now.'

"'He can't think of everything.'

"'Suppose I go on strike?'

"He said, 'That means you would be part of the liberal left conspiracy that is trying to destroy the country. You would be considered un-American.'