US Airways Express Pilot Arrested with Loaded Firearm in the Sterile Area

Before you jump to conclusions there could be an explanation for this. As a express pilot I have to follow the directions of the company. Without going into details......
Could someone have planted the weapon in his bag? Absolutely.

gabby thanks for your post. So many posters on here sure jump to conclusions. If you read the article this person was 52 YO and probably a long time pilot for Piedmont. Unless he was nuts there had to be a good reason that loaded pistol was in his bag. He is going to have to go thru a lot of S _ _ T, during the investigation process that is for sure.

gabby thanks for your post. So many posters on here sure jump to conclusions. If you read the article this person was 52 YO and probably a long time pilot for Piedmont. Unless he was nuts there had to be a good reason that loaded pistol was in his bag. He is going to have to go thru a lot of S _ _ T, during the investigation process that is for sure.

"U.S. airline pilots who receive special training may carry guns in the cockpit but are not allowed to have them elsewhere in the plane or in airport terminals. The program began some 10 years ago following the September 11, 2001 aircraft hijacking attacks.

How do you get a gun in the fly deck with out first going thru the terminal? Maybe a charter that orig out of a remote and then arr at a terminal?.....Hmmm!

Those with the credentials to carry a weapon are allowed to do so. But there is a procedure to follow at the TSA checkpoint. Apparently this pilot didn't follow the procedure and went through normal screening like any passenger, indicating that he probably didn't have authorization to carry a weapon. Even if he had a mental lapse, it would have been cleared up at the checkpoint and he wouldn't have been arrested.

Jim