Value Pricing

Aug 20, 2002
KCFlyer on other threads makes a good argument for an overhaul of the fare structure. What are the opinions out there? Should this or should this not happen? Why isn/t AMR going ahead with this if it is beneficial?
I have to admit that I have no experience actually shopping around and/or paying for an airline ticket, so I can/t comment with any knowledge about fares.

Only those that signed the "confidentiality agreements" know for sure. And I suspect that even some of the nuts and bolts of plans that will appear post concessions have been witheld from even them.

Look for heavy profits to return in the years 2005 and 2006.

The standard answer is "We have to get costs under control first". Maybe so. But IMHO, getting back to profitability is a two step process, and the best way is to implement both steps simultaneously. Start by looking at cost cutting measures. Cuts in labor rates alone won't cure the problems. Implement a true value pricing system to increase revenue at the same time you are looking for cost cutting measures in ALL areas (not just labor contracts) and it seems to me that profitablity will occur sooner that it will by leaving revenue well enough alone until costs are "under control".

There are a number of pricing tests going on all over the place. There were a flurry of press releases about 2 months ago I think when AA overhauled pricing in about 40 markets, then UA followed on a broader scale. I haven't seen any followup on any successes though.

From what I recall, there were a number of markets out of DFW that full fare was slashed like 40%, and the bottom fares were brought up slightly (which sounds exactly like I remembered value pricing). Take a look at DFW to LAX or SAN... the LAX walkup for tomorrow is about $650, while it's still the astronomical $1000+ to get to SAN.

[blockquote]
----------------
On 3/3/2003 6:55:53 PM will fix for food wrote: