Wants to pay his dues, does not want to join

PHX-F/A

Veteran
Aug 14, 2005
Visit site
In this weeks aboutUS, in the question and answers was the following question/answer. I'm baffled at the thought process of willing to pay, but refusal to join.

Comments?

Q. I’m a customer service agent and I would like to pay my union
dues, but no one seems to know how I can do this unless I sign a
card joining the union. I do not want to join, but do know that I am
required to pay dues. How can this be resolved?

A. Under the passenger service agreement, you are not required to be a
member of the union, but you are required to pay an "agency fee" which
is nearly the same amount as dues. You can find information in Article
33 of the passenger service agreement, which you can get by contacting
the president or secretary treasurer of the local union.

There is, or was, a West FA doing the same thing. His initials are MG and he is a FA that everyone seems to like a lot. Perhaps you might ask him directly what his rationale is regarding this. I'm pretty sure I know it, but it is not up to me to post his thoughts.

You can become a dues objector, you still have to initiate and pay the fees germane to the CBA.

However, you can't attend meetings, vote on your representation, nor can you vote on the CBA or a strike vote.

You basically save $13 or so a month and you give up your say in what happens.

Union dues are tax deductable, so what is the big deal?

In this weeks aboutUS, in the question and answers was the following question/answer. I'm baffled at the thought process of willing to pay, but refusal to join.
I'm not sure how "willing" the person is to pay. It seems as though the person wants nothing to do with unions, but recognizes s/he is legally obligated to pay something, and wants to comply with the law.

My guess is that if it were up to this person, s/he would not pay diddly.