The Future At Clt If Us Fails?

CLT-Douglas

Advanced
Feb 12, 2003
I for one feel for US Airways and it's employees, and would hate to see the airline go out of business. Unfortunately, with each passing day it looks as though this could be a very real possibility. As a Charlotte resident, I am curious of what your thoughts are about the dramatic and drastic effects a shut down will cause to the CLT airport, and the prospects of rebounding from the loss in the future. Below are some questions and thoughts on this topic that I would be interested in getting your opinion on.

1. With a 90% reduction of service with out US Airways, how quickly could airlines begin to restore some of the lost service to CLT?

2. CLT is currently building a new parking garage, and I believe has funding and is starting construction of a third parallel runway already. Plans to double the size of terminal E, the express terminal are also on the drawing board. Is it likely the new runway and terminal E expansion will be canceled as a result to a shut down, or is it likely the airport will go ahead with the plans to be a more attractive hub facility for possible other airlines?

3. I am aware of the low O&D Stats at CLT with is a major negative. I am certain that some explanation as to why is because CLT is the most expensive airport for passengers to fly out of in the country. CLT has a lot of positives going for it as it's costs are low, very efficient, great facilities, good year round weather, good centralized east coast location, growing city, low cost of living, very limited LCC competition for now. All factors to lure another airline to use CLT as a hub, but in all likely hood who would be interested how much of it would be US Airways to sell rather then the airports responsibility?

4. If no other airline is interested in using CLT as a hub, would CLT see a flood of LCC enter or a lot of empty gates and only a slight increase from the other airlines that currently already serve CLT?