The Way I See It

Spark

Feb 2, 2004
Hello all...
I've just joined the forum!
Looks pretty interesting here.

In my opinion, I think we are going to see a big turn around for aviation in the near future. As technology grows I think more and more people will own a personal aircraft. That means more work for us mechanics. This will make you a more valued individual.

I am unfamilliar with "TWU". What or who is that?

The TWU, or Tatally Worthless Union, has been misrepresenting the AMT class and craft for over 50 years. Does the term "company union" mean anything to you?

No, I work in the business class aviation side and am not employed by a union shop, but I here what you are saying!

Spark;
I hate to dissapoint you but that is the same thing I heard back in A&P school back in the 70S. Demand for mechanics did go up as predicted however wages, real wages after inflation did not. Here is how things have turned out.

[REMOVED - IMAGE TO LARGE FOR THESE FORUMS]

The spike that you see in 2002 was the result of AMFAs growth and the contract they got at NWA. However the other unions, that are not mechanics unions even though they negotiate our conbtract are in an all out assualt, organized around a massive fear campain to reverse AMFAs gains and drag our wages down. As you can see the TWU at AA has been very succesful at that, and we are stuck with this contract till 2009.

Whether you belong to a union or not, your pay will be affected by what happens in union shops. Unions will set the standards. Our hope is to unite all aircraft mechanics into one union so we can reverse the twenty year decline that we have suffered through. My suggestion become an Associate member of AMFA or at least PAMA.

Well, I think we are going to see a lack of qualified techs, and a growth of aircraft ownership that will cause a pay increase across the industry. I base this statement on what I see locally, the talent and number of a/c etc...