Big Boys With The Big Toys

Blackmac

Senior
Mar 31, 2003
Canada’s Most Respected Cheaters

by Jim Stanford, CAW economist

Earlier this year, KPMG released its annual ranking of Canada’s “most respected corporations.†Surprisingly, the silver medal went to WestJet. “Today, corporate reputation matters more than ever,†said KPMG partner Bill Dillabough in announcing the results.

As a union economist, I never understood WestJet’s success in this ranking. The airline’s CEO was worth something like $100 million at fiscal year-end, while its workers get sub-average wages and have no pension plan. What’s to respect about a company which models its income distribution practices on the Industrial Revolution?

After reading the KPMG fine print, however, it all became clear. The ranking is based on a poll of CEOs, not a poll of Canadians. “Aha,†I thought. Extracting committed labour effort from workers while paying them poorly and offering no pensions: now there’s a neat trick that other CEOs (most of whom are not worth $100 million) will indeed respect, and probably emulate. Whether it deserves respect from the rest of the human race, however, is another matter.

Alas, if the poll were conducted this week the results would be rather different. WestJet’s reputation has been dragged through the mud again, with revelations (not proven in court) it snooped confidential information on Jetsgo (its low-cost competitor), in addition to hacking similar data from Air Canada. Dillabough’s words may prove prophetic, if not in the way WestJet’s spin-doctors had hoped.