Need help on becoming a Commercial Pilot.

Snoa-Tycho

Apr 18, 2010
Hello. Just a bit of background information. I am 14, I am male, and I am a freshman in high school. After long thought, I have decided to set my sights on becoming a commercial airline pilot. Preferably for Delta or Southwest. As I understand it, you need to get your Private license first, which allows you to fly solo over 17 years of age. That's about $8000. Then you need your instrument rating, which tests how well you can fly in harsh conditions. That's another $8000. Then after about 1500 flight hours, you get your APT certificate. Which allows you to fly passengers for money and allows you to fly for hire. I have a few questions.
1. How competitive is the market for becoming a First Officer pilot?
2. If I were to start training in a year, when could I expect to get my APT cert?
3. What are some short cuts to getting your APT (Without turning to the Army)
4. Do I have to pay for renting the plane while getting my APT?
5. How long did it take YOU to go from your Instrument rating to your APT (Or how long do you estimate, if you don't have one)?
6. How enjoyable is the Commercial pilot career?
7. I was thinking that, on weekends and holidays, I can fill in flight hours by flying out of state, am I allowed to do this? I live in Florida, so it's a pretty narrow state that doesn't allow for much flying in circles without going over water.
8. How much, in all, will I end up paying before I can get my dream job of being a commercial pilot?

Reactions: 1 person
You left out some steps - getting the commercial license, getting the multiengine rating, and it wouldn't hurt to get the flight instructor license. That lets you get paid for flying, although not as pilot in command on turbine powered or over 12.5K max gross weight (that's where the ATP comes in).

1. How competitive is the market for becoming a First Officer pilot?