Obamas' "free choice act"

lpbrian

Veteran
Mar 7, 2004
Now that Barack Obama is elected president, he will now repay the unions for their support and pass the "Employee Free Choice Act". My question is, does this affect RLA industries? I always thought RLA industries were governed by a seperate set of laws. Any experts?

Now that Barack Obama is elected president, he will now repay the unions for their support and pass the "Employee Free Choice Act". My question is, does this affect RLA industries? I always thought RLA industries were governed by a seperate set of laws. Any experts?
I'm not an expert but I'm pretty sure that it would. I don't believe
the RLA penalizes any industry in regards to organizing. It is
mainly concerned about union activities after organizing. As someone
in a union in FS I can tell you that this new law would help us out greatly.
One of the biggest problems facing organized FS is the contract worker
who may be very tempted to cross picket lines. I don't know if this law
will pass as currently written but anything would be a big help.

As I understand it the big problem with voting after the card campaign is
that it must pass by a majority of the work force not just a majority
of those voting. If they only allowed that in a normal vote for say some
new law nothing would pass. Imagine in say California trying to pass something
that required a majority of everyone over 18 years old, not just those registered
voters.

To say the current rule is anti union is an understatement. It's anti democratic.

Does a union really think people like me are going to vote for it just because my vote will be made public ?.................Brahahaw

They're no better than Big Brother !