Parachute System For Ga Aircraft

Cirrus has included these in it's line of small private planes. There are however still questions of the Ballistic Recovery Systems reliability (note bottom of article). Overall I think it is a good idea. I wonder how this would affect the bane of all GA operators... Insurance. Hopefully once all the kinks have been worked out this might be akin to having air-bags in a motor vehicle. As a pilot I would never soley rely on this type system, but it would be nice to have in an "all-else-has-failed" scenario.

CNN Article

It may be fancy and worth bragging about, but it totals the airplane (opening the chute that is)...

It seems like such a last last last resort that it really isnt worth buying "the plane with the parachute" over another, safer plane. Just seems like something too fancy, like, do I really trust this new manufactorer who's first plane has a freaking built in parachute??

The SR22 still is quite a sexy airplane, though.

B.E. said:
It may be fancy and worth bragging about, but it totals the airplane (opening the chute that is)...

It seems like such a last last last resort that it really isnt worth buying "the plane with the parachute" over another, safer plane. Just seems like something too fancy, like, do I really trust this new manufactorer who's first plane has a freaking built in parachute??
The SR22 still is quite a sexy airplane, though.
[post="242273"][/post]​