changing careers..

crAAckmonkey

Feb 2, 2012
I am an aircraft mechanic and have worked corporate and commercial aviation for 12 years. I have always enjoyed and been proud of my profession, but it would seem I am part of a dying breed. With the surge of overseas maintenance and low cost MRO's it would seem the U.S. AMT is being outsourced at an alarming rate. I am facing yet another layoff and the future of my career is in doubt. I only feel fortunate to be young enough to go back to school.. many of my colleagues are not. My only issue is, what do I go back to school for?? Is there a career field that my experience, combined with more education, would translate into? Any advice or suggestions are much appreciated..

I think the first step is to decide what field you want to study? Do you want to "sort of" stay in a related field, or do a 180, and become, say, and accountant? If it's the former, I wouldn't discount your experience, but rather would pick a degree that compliments it. I know people vomit at the thought of a mgmt. degree, but there are many now that are more tailored to a frontline position (ie crew chief or supervisor) than what we tradionally think of. While you're deciding on which road to take, you can always bang out some of the pre-req's. You may also be able to test out and/or get experiential credit for some classes as well. Make sure to pursue those optios fully.

I would also HIGHLY encourage you to check out any online learning options available. I did that for much of my degree track, and completion simply wouldn't have been an option if that weren't available. It's the same core curriculum, but in my experience, it was much more participative than a brick-and-mortar setting. It also tends to skew older, so people were my (our?) age w/tons of real world experience, as opposed to a room full of 18-20 year old.