Have some questions about United bankruptcy from a current AA mechanic.

Jul 18, 2008
First off hello, I am an aircraft mechanic with American Airlines at the overhaul base in Tulsa Oklahoma. I have 20 years in now and am for obvious reasons worried about what will happen during the bankruptcy as I have never been through one before.

I have looked high and low on the internet for answers specifically what happened to United aircraft mechanics during and after the bankruptcy. I hope some of you can help.

How many mechanics lost their jobs and did not return?

How much of a pay cut did you take?

Did you lose your pension?

What happened with your medical benefits?

What kind of work rule changes were implemented?

I really appreciate if anyone can help answer some of my questions.

Thank you.

First off hello, I am an aircraft mechanic with American Airlines at the overhaul base in Tulsa Oklahoma. I have 20 years in now and am for obvious reasons worried about what will happen during the bankruptcy as I have never been through one before.

I have looked high and low on the internet for answers specifically what happened to United aircraft mechanics during and after the bankruptcy. I hope some of you can help.

Thank you.

Hi Tulsa Mech,
Sorry to hear about the BK.
It's not going to be easy, especially for overhaul.
I don't remember the specifics as it was long ago and I left UA in 2008.
IIRC
Da'Judge imposed an immediate (temporary) pay cut which was mitigated during S1113 negotiations a couple of months later.
All HMV was outsourced.
If you are an OH AMT, get ready to bounce around the system and hopefully land somewhere that you can live with.
Back shops were decimated and most was outsourced.
Pension was given to the PBGC and I lost about $400 a month due to the 5 year look-back clause (which you shouldn't worry about).
Increase in medical, dental and big change in sick day implementation.
Plus loosing our ESOP stock.