How Much Should An Airline Mechanic Be Paid?

Should all wage rates for the mechanics be comparable as well as those for the non-mechanic classification?

As a mechanic I should be able to be compensated as those at other airlines and the Fleet Service employee should be compensated accordingly.

You analogy of profit is fine, however when the profits were available, there was no move to correct the compensation disparity.

FWAAA said:
Perhaps I was a little harsh about the perceived "pointlessness" of the thread. How much an airline mechanic should be paid is not a pointless discussion; comparing the billing rate for plumbers to MX W-2 wages seemed to go nowhere. My comments were directed toward that comparison. I apologize for the unnecessary harshness.

It would seem that a better comparison would be to the W-2 wages of other airline mechanics (or Mr Goodwrench employees, for that matter). Everyone knows that AA's mechanics make roughly $10k less than WN's mechanics. And WN just posted a profit of $26 million, so they could afford to pay more.

I am underworked and overpaid. As a self-employed professional, I determine my income and working hours.

If I want less work (it happens!), I simply quote a higher hourly rate (which eventually lessens demand) until I have as much work as I want at the income level I desire.

What is the proper wage level for AA's mechanics? None of my business, really.

If I were lobbying for you, I'd say, much higher than they currently are. Too bad the company isn't rolling in profits and can't afford to increase them right now.

The company line would be: No higher than it takes to get you to come to work. In fact, press them downward until some start to quit. Raise them if replacements refuse to start at the new lower wages.