Kit aircraft and airplanes

Chocula78

Jun 8, 2006
Allentown, PA
Visit site
I recently started training for my private pilot's license. Althought I have only spent 3 hours in the air, I love it.

I am an engineering student so building my own airplane greatly appeals to me. What's the best way to get into kit aircraft or experimental construction? What books can I read or websites can I surf to learn more?

I recently started training for my private pilot's license. Althought I have only spent 3 hours in the air, I love it.

I am an engineering student so building my own airplane greatly appeals to me. What's the best way to get into kit aircraft or experimental construction? What books can I read or websites can I surf to learn more?
I'd say try searching Google... Fastest search engine I've ever found, and more complete. Good Luck.

I recommend that you first finish getting your Private pilot's license-not the newly created sport pilot either. You need to build some time(experience) in different types of planes and conditions before you start flying experimentals. Remember experimentals are not certified airplanes. Many kitplanes have flying quirks in them that can kill an unsuspecting novice pilot, even experienced pilot's can get bitten by these "quirks". I don't recommend Kitplanes magazine or the EAA magazine as they are bought and paid for by the kitplane industry. I used to suscribe to "sport pilot". They are oriented more towards safety and exposing some of the fraud and bad designs that plague the experimental field. If you decide to go the experimental route, go with a manufactuer that has been around a while(VANS,MURPHY,WAG-AERO,etc.). Some of these kitplanes makers are fly by night operations, here today-gone tommorrow(usually with your money).