Working for Continental

NJ_Dude

Jun 4, 2006
Hi there,

I applied to become a FA for Continental and got a response, I have to go to the interviews, etc, but I see that you start as "reserve", I've never worked for an airline before and I'd like to know Continental's policies regarding new hires, my home base would be EWR which is 15 minutes away from where I live, in case you need to know.

Any info about this will be greatly appreciated.

Hi there,

I applied to become a FA for Continental and got a response, I have to go to the interviews, etc, but I see that you start as "reserve", I've never worked for an airline before and I'd like to know Continental's policies regarding new hires, my home base would be EWR which is 15 minutes away from where I live, in case you need to know.

Any info about this will be greatly appreciated.
I applied at Continental about the same time I was hired at AA. I have several friends who are flight attendants at Continental, and they love working for the company. However, they are all based in Houston where the headquarters are and the cost of living is quite a bit below the New York area.

As a reserve, you will not have a regular schedule of flights. You will have set days off, and set days on which you will be "on call" to the company. And, that is on call 24 hours a day. They might call you at 5pm to tell you that you have been assigned to a trip that leaves at 4pm the next day. Or, they may call you at 2am and tell you that you have to be at the airport at 4am. You have to be flexible.