Would US Airways buy Mesa?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Man, I didn't mean to stir the pot. But then again, if these "Mid Atlantic" guys get to keep their seniority, it will push a lot of HP'ers down the list, so I think I'd be Anti-MDA too if I was an HP driver!

Regarding Republic, it was a smart move with the asset purchase. Mesa has its hands firmly on Phoenix for a few more years before US can move another carrier in. From what I'm hearing, YV isn't doing HORRIBLE, and they aren't the worst ranked USX carrier anymore. However, I think the CR9's are not something that US wants to really take on independently. Plus, YV has 36 Embraer 145s that they OWN, again, more planes US doesn't want to have to think about when DL finally cuts out the rest F8 plane.

Correct - there was no MDA ops cert for Republic to buy. Republic did not provided any financing during or on exit from either BK either (other than the money used to purchase the 170's - an asset purchase not investment in US).

If I remember correctly, US sold Republic a bunch of DCA slots for cash, with the exclusive right to repurchase those slots within a certain timeframe.

Also, didn't Republic buy some of our slots in LGA and then lease them back to us in exchange for long term Express flying contracts?

As already posted, they bought both LGA and DCA slots which US leases back. FWIW, even the 170's were leased from the date of the sales transaction till each plane was turned over to Republic.

The whole deal was really wrapped in one agreement covering two transactions - the commitment to an equity investment upon BK exit was one transaction. The sale of the 170's and slots, and the leaseback of slots and the 170's while they were being phased out at MDA was the other transaction. US had the choice on whether or not to require the equity investment (they declined) while Republic had the choice on the sales/leasebacks (obviously they chose to buy the assets).