Research Project

mkoffman221

Jul 15, 2009
Hello, I am a history graduate student that is researching the merger of US Airways and America West. I have started writing about the histories of each and am working on the merger itself. To fully cover this topic, I would like to speak with employees (positions from Pilots to FA's, to management personnel) from either airline in an effort to see the combining of different corporate structures, cultures, and histories.

At the moment, I am finishing an internship at the Smithsonian National Museum of American history until the end of July before I head back out to the Phoenix area.

If you know of any employees in the DC area that would be willing to help with my research I would appreciate it as I would like to be able to gather opinions and information from both perspectives.

I have posted on the AirlinePilots central forum, but would also take any suggestions as to where else I can seek interested parties. Thanks.

Mitchell.

Mitchell, good luck to you; the Air and Space Museum is one of my all time favorites. I would have loved to have been lucky and smart enough to have been an intern at such an esteemed institution.

Moderator Note: this post has been edited to remove reference to a post which has been deleted.

Just draw some pictures: Unlike the Piedmont-USAir merger, where two buckets of honey were mixed together and the alchemists created one large bucket of "dung". The AmericaWest-USAirways merger was two buckets of "dung" mixed together and, poof! ...a larger bucket of "dung"! What an easy paper!

Hello, I am a history graduate student that is researching the merger of US Airways and America West. I have started writing about the histories of each and am working on the merger itself.

.... but would also take any suggestions as to where else I can seek interested parties. Thanks.

Mitchell.
Check out the Galley Thread. That should give you a good idea about the merger!