Amfa - Plant Maintenance Speaks Out

TWU informer

Veteran
Nov 4, 2003
March 2, 2004

To My Fellow Technicians at American Airlines:

My name is George Hellmer and I am a Plant Maintenance Technician at Northwest Airlines. I have been a Plant Maintenance Technician since 1990. I was recently asked if I felt that switching unions from the IAM to AMFA was the right choice. In a nutshell the answer is “Yesâ€￾. I have not once doubted that I made the right choice in switching to the Aircraft Mechanics Fraternal Association.

Originally, I was one of the guys who wanted to stick with the IAM. As a technician there is a natural instinct to repair verses replace. Well, as we all have found out at one point or another, some things cannot be repaired. I ask each of you to read the AMFA Constitution and then read your current union’s Constitution. The Constitution is the operator’s manual of the union. Which Constitution is more user friendly, easy to read and understand?

Rumors have been spread about AMFA’s track record and that AMFA does not care about anyone but an A&P certificated technician. Well I cannot deny that there have been layoffs at NWA. This is a result of the tragic events of September 11th, along with the struggling economy. You can look around and see almost every carrier has laid off workers and continues to struggle to return to profitability. This epidemic is not unique to AMFA represented carriers.