Identifying

sweetlilsky

Aug 2, 2004
I am asking this in reference to one occasion where a controller once asked me if I had my traffic in sight... though it was a Dh8 and apparently we were both travelling North, I was told he was at my 12 o'clock position, and I certainly could not have caught up to him in my little Cessna 152. :p Makes me laugh. But anyways, even though my "traffic" was far ahead, I couldn't help but wonder - if it had been something much less familiar to me...

How important is it to be able to tell the difference between the various models of Cessna Citations, Dh8s, etc...? More importantly, how do you do it? What if the gear is up and you have a view from behind? Honestly.

I am still a low-time pilot, just flying single engine Cessnas and Pipers, but apparently everyone else in the same position seems to be able to tell the difference between a 100 and 300 model of anything and anything (and I don't mean recognizing an F28 and a DC10 between a choice of the two, I mean differentiating between an X model Cessna Citation and a Citation 500).

I can see how knowing the difference between different models of aircraft would help for the purposes of identifying traffic, but is it really necessary to know the details of how to describe a Beoing 737-300 vs. a Beoing 737-400? It's not like you get close enough to them in the air (or have the time really) to spot the differences do you? And if you do it's probably pretty scary... but I don't recall ever hearing ATC list the exact specifications of each aircraft (save the model) when advising you of traffic.

The guys in my ground school class baffled me when they were able to say that so and so picture of something is a 300 model vs. a 100 because of "this". How do you guys know this? Is the only way to look at a million pictures and minutely note the tiny differences in an effort to internalize them, or is there some book or some resource you use to help you find this out?