It's my first time to ride an airplane

Apr 12, 2018
I’m going to the states and visit my boyfriend I met in a foreign dating event last year. But, I’m quite nervous, it’s my first time to ride an airplane. They say it’s good inside the plane but still, you cannot deny the uneasiness a first timer will feel. Tell me, what preparations should be done (if there be any). Call me ignorant but I just want to let you know how I feel about this. Should I take some kind of pill to lessen the fright regarding my first flight? Thanks!

1. Do not medicate yourself with anti-anxiety stuff. Waste of money. Regardless of where you are seated on the a/c, the take-off will be loud and as long as you are still on the runway, there may be some bumping. Don't worry, as the a/c climbs to cruising altitude, the cockpit will cut back on the engines which will lessen the noise. Don't worry about the cutback either. It's to conserve expensive jet fuel. Flight paths today don't require climbing straight up to reach cruising altitude quickly.

2, Boarding will begin 30-60 minutes (depending on the size of the airplane) prior to scheduled departure. If you are connecting, look at your boarding pass carefully. A lot of people--even people who have flown many times--mistake the boarding time for the departure time. Whatever time boarding begins, 10 minutes before that, GO TO THE REST ROOM in the terminal. You will probably have a cleaner environment and for sure, you will have more room to do your business. Also (trade secret) it really annoys the flight attendants for people to get on the plane and then immediately they have to go to the rest room because they have been sitting for two hours in the gate area without moving a muscle with a completely equipped rest room across the concourse from the gate about 15 feet away. These people also seem oblivious to the fact that they are delaying boarding going to and from their seat when they should be sitting in it.