Ual, Lenders Seek Dip Some Waivers

Row,

First off, thanks for showing interest in understanding our dilema without, the undertone of gloomy predictions. That is VERY refreshing on this board these days.

I am no bankruptcy expert, so this is only my understanding of the situation. I look at the assets being sold like cash. UA is getting rid of things it doesn't need, in return for money in the bank. So since the $ for these sales improve UA's cash balance, I don't think the creditors would have a problem with it. If the assets were transfered somewhere that the creditors could not get to it, that would be a different story.

Additionally, I believe some of the $ is being used to pay down the debt.

Lesson #2 for "Bankruptcy For Dumbies" complete.

UnitedChicago said:
They didn't sell these shares because they had to - it's because diller aqcuired hotwire. What a frickin AMAZING RETURN! THEY MADE $81.2 MILLION!

Now I feel a bit better. :up:
I agree!

You can't be upset about a return like that!

To recap somewhat:

$5 million savings per year from $2.8 billion fuel expense

$20 million savings from outsourcing cabin cleaning

$19.2 million from BA for 4 slots at Heathrow

$85 million earned from sale of stake in Hotwire

$176-258 million earned from sale of stake in Orbitz

$ ? to be earned from sale of surplus inventory at Auction

$ ? to be earned from sale of 18 767-200's

Did I leave any additional earnings out?

Mr. Tilton seems to be navigating through bankruptcy rather well since he brought with him his experience at Chevron.

Chip Munn said:
Finally, there is more reason to believe some form of a UCT will occur, although its final form is unclear.
Now that has to be the most vague statement I've heard in a long time.

There is also reason to believe that the sky will fall, and life on planet Earth will cease to exisit, although when, where, and how it will happen is unclear.

(But if it happens I will claim to be the first to have predicted it. ;) )