Inventory Management

jksflyer

Nov 16, 2008
Hey...
I am new to this whole thing but I thought it was a good idea. I am looking for somebody with United or has a connection that could help me get an upgrade confirmed on a United flight I am taking in Dec. I used miles to upgrade a ticket however, two sections of the flight were not upgraded. I have called United Reservations and emailed Customer Care. However, I am not getting anywhere. According, to United a seat need to be released for upgrade in the first class cabin by inventory management. This can happen any time till my flight even up to 24hrs prior.

Hence, why I am looking for somebody with United that can help me get upgraded... I will provide detials if sombody can help and return the favor if your ever in Pittsburgh and need a hotel room

Having spent time at United Airlines they aren't telling you anything that isn't true. If you used miles to pay for the ticket then you should be confirmed on the flights but pending upgrades on the others? If that is correct, then you are in a wait and see situation. While I didn't work revenue management, and if somebody who does and I speak in error they can correct.

1. Revenue management watches flights and bases the amount of free tickets related to the general miles 'earned' on that route the prior year. Thus matching the accrual of miles with the amount of miles released.
2. Revenue managements goal is to maximize revenue on each flight segement they are responsbile for, and as such their career future depends upon them maximizing the flight revenue. (Cash in the till) So, they watch their assign flights and match the flight with what the expected revenue should be. Then, as the flight comes closer they may release more 'free' seats.