Attention Pilots! Question For You!

El Gato

Advanced
Mar 24, 2004
You know it's not your pay that is the problem, ALPA can prove that readily. You know it is not the IAM that is the problem, although for some unknown reason they are still pushing back planes. You know it isn't even the AFA that is the problem, even though flight attendants are refusing to clean aircraft because "it's dirty work"(Tell that to the F/A's at WN and B6). No, ladies and gentlemen, you know perfectly well what the problem is. YOU are not flying enough! The recently tallied average of hours that US pilots are putting in is about 55 hours a month....WN and B6 average 85 hours a month.

So why is this happening?

First, I would like you to offer up how many YOU did last month, then give a theory as to the reason why. I know all about the most senior pilots and their reasons, sometimes being things like "I am a dentist on the side" or "I have a jewelery store I have to run!". But what about the bulk majority of you captains and f/os?

My own theory is that the line bid process is way out of whack, and that the crew scheduling is totally mismanaged. In addition, the flight lines are done all wrong as well....maybe PHL can't turn a plane in 30 minutes, but I think PIT and CLT and the outer stations can. A WN captain bids a line for the year and flies it - no BS. A US captain, well has "options" and when everyone excercises their options it all gets fubar very fast.

So, once again I ask you. How much are you flying? and what do you think is the cause for it? and how can you change it?

I am not trying to be offensive to any of you, but this isn't exactly the time for half baked attitudes towards our jobs. Got to save them now, or else.

El Gato said:
even though flight attendants are refusing to clean aircraft because "it's dirty work"(Tell that to the F/A's at WN and B6).