City of Dallas to consider closing Love Field

Who is right(no pun intended), who is wrong. This whole battle is getting a little old. Tear down the Legend Terminal or something, but let's get this whole thing over with. just my thoughts.....

This is not going to happen. The City of Dallas seems to be determined to take the "You're not my momma. You cain't tell me what to do" attitude toward the other municipalities in North Texas that are also on the hook for the DFW bonds. Also, I think that the city takes the SWA threat to move the headquarters elsewhere very seriously. Dallas's economy is not the healthiest in the country. As a Dallas resident I know that Love Field and SWA are the stimulus for a lot of jobs in Dallas.

At the same time, I don't think that repeal of the Wright Amendment is on the horizon, and truth be known, I'm not sure that SWA actually wants repeal of the WA. I think this is all a marketing/PR ploy.

Reasons:
1. City of Dallas is one of those municipalities on the hook for DFW bonds--the major guarantor. IIRC, the guarantees are proportional by city size. I may be wrong here. If I am, I'm sure that one of the SWA fans will correct me.
2. One landing approach to Love Field is over some very expensive real estate with residents who don't want increased noise from the airport. And, no, I'm not talking about Highland Park, but them too. Oak Lawn is being gentrified with more and more of the older homes there being torn down and very expensive townhomes--$500,000 up--being put up. (Same thing is happening in Houston in the Montrose area and the area between downtown and the Medical Center that used to be outright slums.)
3. The other landing approach to Love Field--over Bachman Lake--is over predominantly Hispanic neighborhoods that will scream discrimination if they get all the noise from expansion in order to appease Oak Lawn/Highland Park.