Why Aren't All Airline Unions Meeting Now?

Fatherknowsbest

Advanced
Sep 19, 2003
(Think outside the box they call it) I am not a Union expert. With the whole Airline industry now on its head, why aren't AFL-CIO Unions all accross the country in this industry having emergency meetings? Even Southwest is heavily unionized AND very successful. This industry is failing. Before it is too late why hasn't any coaltion been formed?

My idea is for meetings of ALL Airline Unions, not meetings of all Unions of 1 Airline Company. Just a thought.

Any chance of success?

Thanks!

GREED,

The employees at all of the other airlines would love to see another airline fail to enhance the opporotunity at the airline they work for.

That is why there is not national seniority lists....

Fatherknowsbest said:
(Think outside the box they call it) I am not a Union expert. With the whole Airline industry now on its head, why aren't AFL-CIO Unions all accross the country in this industry having emergency meetings? Even Southwest is heavily unionized AND very successful. This industry is failing. Before it is too late why hasn't any coaltion been formed?

My idea is for meetings of ALL Airline Unions, not meetings of all Unions of 1 Airline Company. Just a thought.
Any chance of success?
Thanks!
[post="194165"][/post]​

You got that right---senority on the pilots side is'nt about a brotherhood but a cold blooded numbers game--nothing new here----they want our blood and smell it.

This is why falling on our sword (not taking consessions so that we do not "lower the bar) is a farce,

All of the other airlines are looking at what US Airways has...a dominant east coast position, and they are loving the idea that we go away making an opportunity for increeased flying at their airline.

And of course, no jobs for us!