Just Celebrated My 10th Year

usacrew3

Advanced
Sep 17, 2003
Fort Lauderdale
Its been the best roller coaster ride Ive ever had the pleasure of riding. I started in Consumer Affairs on June 20, 1994. While I was in training flight 1016 crashed in CLT and I wondered if I had made a good decision to work for USAir. Then right after training flight 427 crashed and we received the hate mail and calls on a daily basis calling us every bad name under the sun, you've heard them Im sure. I worked with family members of that crash and decided that by doing my best I could help turn our airline around and get the stock back up - remember $4 a share.
As a gate agent I worked in MSY for a year. My shift began at 5am and I loved every minute of it. My coworkers were all dedicated and we worked well as a team. Msy was a great station to be part of.
Then came the inflight bug and I started flying domestic trips out of CLT. Being one of the most junior flight attendants we got the dog trips unless some senior mama called off her trip then I had 90 minutes to get my butt on the airplane. I loved flying and was commended on several occasions for a job well done. Then it was off to PHW to fly internationally for five years. Again, I flew the dog low paying trips although I did go to Rome once, the Friday after September 11th when I volunteered for the trip when we were short crew members. The flight was overbooked by 220 as stranded passengers tried to get back to the States and the man towards the back did throw a can of ginger ale at me when he didn't get the chicken, I only had pasta left. It was a great experience to go over and bring those passengers home.