Will SWA buy, or merge with another airline in the near future?

swamt

Veteran
Oct 23, 2010
Rumors are flying around that SWA will once again forgo in another airline purchase, or merger.  We have always heard about Alaska Airlines.  Someone finally asked G. Kelly about it. Take it as you will, BUT, why can't he talk about confidential information on this issue.  Here's his response to an employees question about future airline mergers.:

Jason: My name is Jason. I'm an Operation Agent in Nashville, and my question for Gary is: do we have 
any intentions on buying any other airlines down the road?
Gary: Well, hello, Jason. Great question and, you know, that's one of those things that I can't give you 
anything that's confidential, so, let me just answer this question this way: we've acquired airlines in our history and AirTran is, depending on how you count some of the acquisitions we’ve made, the fourth. I 
think acquisitions are challenging—they are very unique—and they need to make sense. It especially 
helps to do an acquisition if other growth opportunities are not available because every company 
aspires to grow. Growth is good for our People; growth is good for Shareholders; it's certainly good for 
the Company.
At this point, we worked really hard, and, especially over the last four years, to create the capabilities to 
grow Southwest Airlines and the interesting thing is—again, I've been at Southwest for 28 years—in my 
28-year history, we've never had a point in time like this one where we have so many growth 
opportunities. So, you probably heard me say that right now we have 50 potential destinations that we 
could add to the Southwest route map. They're all beyond the 48 states, but we've never had that many 
opportunities at a given point in time ever in our history. Some of it was the nature of our route system 
where we would grow gradually and any point in time we might be able to add five new cities—and we