International Interpreter Program

CLTBWIDAYSYR

Senior
Aug 20, 2002
Here's the text of an email I got from AFA in Charlotte--it's a letter from Tom Kilheeney, CLT base manager. I have heard from more than one person that these new employees will be paid more than most full-time employees with an average annual wage of $45K. That would really have me peeved if I was a language-speaking agent or flight attendant making far less than that. Any truth to it?

Subject: Portuguese Interpreters

As we continue to fine tune our service to/from GIG, we recognize the
importance of having language-qualified employees to support the operation
and overall customer service experience. In recognizing this and in an effort
to better support the needs of our Airport Customer Service Agents and
InFlight crews, we have created a new International Interpreter position here
in CLT. This coming weekend, four Interpreters will complete their initial
training program and, beginning Saturday, 1/23, will be available to support
our Customer Service team in the departure lounge and, in the event a LOD/O
Flight Attendant is not scheduled, our InFlight crews onboard the aircraft.
Please keep in mind that an Interpreter will only be scheduled to travel
onboard a flight when a LOD/O Flight Attendant is not onboard. If scheduled
to be onboard, the Interpreter will follow the direction of the Cabin Service
Director and in no way is permitted to complete safety or service- related
Flight Attendant duties. The Interpreter will be assigned a customer seat on
both the outbound and return flights.

Additional information about the role of the Interpreter and the manner in
which they may be able to assist our InFlight crews will be provided during
the pre-flight briefings on flights departing to GIG. We hope you find our
professional team of Interpreters to be of great support on flights where a
LOD/O Flight Attendant is not onboard.

Thank you very much.