Ual Appears To Get It

Art at ISP

Veteran
Aug 20, 2002
Dix Hills NY
www.ffocus.org
I have been flying UA rather regularly for the past three months, and have had the pleasure of flying with some of your colleauges who, for the most part, have done an excellent job. I have been flying PS alot--UA has benefitted from about $7000 in revenue which US lost because they took out hot meals in F on transcons.

Now that I have had the PS experience a few times I must say I am impressed. I know US is bringing back hot meals, but PS is hard to beat. It appears to be consistent, it's almost always full, and the service is always great. I especially love row 9 in the 757 business class. This appears to have been an excellent move on UA's part to reduce capacity on transcons while maintaining frequency and appealing to the business traveler.

I have been saying all along that business travelers are not necessarily looking for the CHEAPEST fares--we are looking for value. With PS we get it--excellent service at a FAIR price.

That said, can anyone enlighten me as to how happy management is with the response to PS? Is it working? Are they making money? I hope so, because I think it was a brilliant move.

Thanks to all the UA crews I have met over the past few weeks, and to Timo at Skywest-the comedian/FA on my first CRJ flight in First Class yesterday SNA-SFO.
He is not only funny but a great FA.

My best to you all.....

The unfortunate problem is that there are not enough of these routes for the legacies to really reap the benefits. Good service can still be had, but for most other routes, this is only a dream of what once was a proud industry.