Unionization

Fly4Free

Veteran
May 31, 2006
Wherever.
Visit site
Maybe it's my ignorance of what unions do, or my perception that they strike if they don't get what they want.. but why unionize? I can understand it if those working on planes or loading baggage unionize. Yeah, I just got this job at US Airways and right now I'm non-union. I am paid the lowest I've ever been paid, even as an intern I was paid more. Why am I with US Airways? Opportunity. Tired of unemployment. I have bills to pay.

Then I step back and realize, how on earth am I going to pay my increasing rent, utilities, car and insurance let alone pay for food, clothing, loans, etc?

I read in the EVT yesterday about workers at Sky Harbour getting a pay increase (new hires) and they were being paid more than some people who had been there for longer than them?

From what I understand, unions "negotiate" pay rates, them based on seniority in the airline. Can any unionized official tell me how they feel about being part of a union and your feelings about it?

In order for a union in the airline industry to strike it takes quite a long time as the Railway Labor Act has strict rules both labor and management must follow.

Contracts in the airline industry to not expire, they become amendable, meaning both parties have to remain status quo till a new agreement is reached or the NMB declares an impasse and imposes a 30 day cooling off period.

Unions protect the members and establish rules, wage rates, benefits, working conditions, grievance procedures and various other things that the company and the union has to abide by.

Back in 1992 when the pilots agreed to concessions the company unilaterally imposed on the non-union ramp and customer service employees massive concessions without any worker having a say.