Transcon Service Standard

Aug 20, 2002
www.usaviation.com
Since I usually fly jetBlue or redeyes on eastbound transcons, I am no expert on US inflight service standards. Could someone more conversant with topic please tell that it is not normal to have just one beverage service on a daytime transcon? Pleas tell that US has not slipped that far. Please.

Since I usually fly jetBlue or redeyes on eastbound transcons, I am no expert on US inflight service standards. Could someone more conversant with topic please tell that it is not normal to have just one beverage service on a daytime transcon? Pleas tell that US has not slipped that far. Please.

Isn't the phrase "Service on US Airways" an oxymoron? Like "Government Worker". "Military Intelligence", "Jumbo Shrimp" and "Adult Male"??

Reactions: 2 people
Transcon service standard is full beverage (pour cup) with push pull buy on board meals. Collect trash. Water and coffee (hydration service). Then full service again prior to landing. This is on flights scheduled for 3.5 hrs or more.

Reactions: 1 person

Procedure is as follows, Full beverage service..... cups.... not cans.
Followed by a coffee and water service....
1 1/2 hours prior to landing another full beverage service.... cups not cans.

I know that there are quite a few lazy ones that want to do one service.... slap down the can and a cup of ice and they are done. That is not procedure.

Did your Call Bell not work?
I don't push a call bell unless it's urgent like for a liqiud spill or somesuch.

The sad thing is that something similar happend two eastbound daytime flights ago on US, there was a second bev svc, but it lacked coffee. "Sorry we haven't brewed any".

My flight prior this most recent one was fine.

(Maybe there is something to be said for jetBlue, other than the TVs, more comfy seats, and generous snack baskets. )