Transcon Service Standard

Since I usually fly jetBlue or redeyes on eastbound transcons, I am no expert on US inflight service standards. Could someone more conversant with topic please tell that it is not normal to have just one beverage service on a daytime transcon? Pleas tell that US has not slipped that far. Please.

What was your flight number?

If you were on a flight numbered 1-699 you were aboard West metal. Flights 700 and up are East metal.

Whether it were a PHX based crew or DCA,PHL or CLT crew makes no difference. The point is it happens A LOT. Not just a little but A LOT. Flight attendants want to take it upon themselves when they want to alter the service. When I hear "we took many cuts so forget it". I say, "Yeah well the service was drastically cut too so your point"? Just do the damn service. Look, many talk about how crappy service is at US and how passengers/employees are treated. Well, something we have control in is making our customer happy onboard the aircraft. How we treat our customer who PAYS OUR BILLS is a direct reflection on the f/a group. Just do the damn service and don't expect passengers to drink one drink and be chained to their seat for five hours. Thats another thing. I get it that you should be seated with your seatbelt fastened but Jesus. YOU sit your big ass in a tiny seat with your knees digging into the seat in front of YOU for five hours. Many can't even sit in a jumpseat. Just sayin'.

Reactions: 6 people
Really don't want to get into the whole East vs West thing. There are good and bad flights on the metal of both sides.

Had a westbound transcon last month on West metal. First time in years that I've scored F/C on a US long haul flight.